Modern slang? Not me, ducky.

Nifty slang, like a fine mustache, never goes out of style.All week, I’ve been trying to remember to write and say “audiobook” instead of “books on tape.”  I think “books on tape” makes me sound like someone who cannot keep up with technology.  In writing I was 100%, but when I went to the library’s drive through window, and was asked if my holds were books or dvds, I automatically said, “Books on tape.”

Why did I bother?  I routinely use outdated words, phrases, sayings, some of which were long past their heyday even in my own youth.

Words like heyday.  Does anyone still say that other than me?

Here is a short list, some of the words, phrases, and sayings which are a regular part of my spoken vocabulary:

Words, like fashion, fall in and out of style.

  • spiffy
  • lollygagging
  • pernickety
  • discombobulated
  • flabbergasted
  • high-falutin’
  • trousers
  • knick-knacks
  • flibberty-gibbit
  • dunderhead
  • Don’t sass me.
  • You scared the bejeebers out of me.
  • gentleman
  • lady
  • slugabed
  • fuddy-duddy
  • luddite
  • For crying out loud!
  • pokey (as in moving slowly)
  • shoddy
  • frou-frou
  • hanky panky
  • thingamajig
  • Oops!
  • You’re a crotchedy old man.
  • cantankerous

So why should I worry about “books on tape” making me sound odd?  It may have been the most normal thing I said all day.

Now, please, tell me what you say that is hopelessly untrendy or old fashioned.

10 thoughts on “Modern slang? Not me, ducky.

  1. My husband always surprises me with “Oh, blast!” if he makes a mistake. I’m like, “Did you grow up in a Louisa May Alcott book?” (no complaints, she’s one of my favorite writers!) Haha! I’ve found myself using a lot of the words above in lieu of curse words lately… “Good grief” is a really lovely substitute for “WTF!? Are you F-ing kidding me? Holy F-ing mother of F!!!” :-D

  2. I have a problem with old sayings like, “A bird in the hand is worth more than two in the bush.” I hear them coming out of my mouth and see the blank stares looking back at me.

Be extra nice and share!

