Pseudonyms and Syncing Up (and a Poll)

I’ve used pseudonyms online for well over a decade, probably over fifteen years.  Back then, my reason was simpler:  I was hanging out on homeschooling bulletin boards, back in the day when they were totally public, no registration required.  My given name is so common that there were always several other women posting under it.

So I decided to use my grandmother’s name, Kay.  I consistently used Kay on every board, even when they went over to registered user accounts.  If they required more than three letters, I added “in CO.”

I never used it anywhere else, though.  So I have accounts various places – Pinterest, Ravelry, Goodreads – that use old email addresses, my real name, etc.  I wish I’d used Kay on all of them, to be consistent, but planning ahead is not my strong suit.

Back on Vegsource, Sonlight, the Homeschool Library, and various other now defunct sites (does anyone remember the one that was associated with a rubber stamping company?), I creatively referred to my children as Boy 1, Boy 2, and The Girl.  I know, I’m clever.

It would feel natural for me to do that here, too, but does that sound weird?  Alienating?

I’ve been thinking I should use names for my family members, and toying with linking up to the other places I am online, but, well, I just don’t know.  So I am asking you.  What do you think?  Do you even care?

2 thoughts on “Pseudonyms and Syncing Up (and a Poll)

  1. I don’t know what Ravelry is. Also, you homeschooled your kids? I might homeschool my daughter. We are still deciding. I thought the poll was fun!

Be extra nice and share!

