Intuitive reasoning at Walmart, or Is He a Basset Hound?

Picking up my dog’s prescription at the Walmart pharmacy the other day, the pharmacy clerk asked name and birthdate, which I gave.  “Is he a basset hound?” she asked.

“No, he’s a beagle-mix.  Close, though.  What made you think basset hound?”

“His name, Jebediah, it reminds me of a basset hound, like in Smokey and the Bandit and the sheriff in Dukes of Hazard….what was his name?”

I thought for a moment, “Rosco P. Coltrane.”

“Yes,” she said, “That’s right.  He had a basset hound, too.”

“And his name was Jebediah?”

“I don’t remember his name, but Jebediah made me think of him.”

I looked it up when I got home.  Roscoe’s dog was named Flash.   The dog in Smokey and the Bandit was Fred.

How she leapt from those to Jebediah I do not know, but it worked.  Almost.  Close enough.  I was impressed anyway.

I think she should get a bonus for being the best conversationalist at her store.

7 thoughts on “Intuitive reasoning at Walmart, or Is He a Basset Hound?

  1. Interesting how people’s minds work isn’t it?

    Also interesting – ’cause you can’t collect animal prescriptions from a human pharmacy, you need a vet’s one. Completely separate as far as I know.

    • That is interesting. Since the prescrptions are ones people take, we can fill them anywhere. Their names are tagged canine, and we made up birthdays for them. It’s cheaper to get them filled at Walmart than at the vet’s.

  2. I didn’t know you could fill prescriptions for your dog at Wal-Mart! Our dog takes Lasix (sp?) so maybe we should look into that.

    I haven’t thought about The Dukes of Hazzard in a long time. When I was a kid I begged my parents to let me watch it. They thought it was a terrible show, but once in a while they would let me stay up and watch it.

    We have similar problems with giving our dogs a breed. They are mutts through and through!

Be extra nice and share!

