Do you ever feel helpless?

Do you ever feel overwhelmed with the sadness of the world, wanting to help, but not knowing how or where to start?  I’ve heard many people express that feeling over the past several days.

There is always something you can do to help others.

Does that mean we can prevent bad things from happening?  No, sadly, it does not.  We live in a broken world, full of messed up people, and bad things will happen.

Good things will happen, too, and we can be among those doing good.

A gift catalog arrived in my mailbox on Saturday that reminded me of this.  The timing was perfect; it is full of needs I can meet, ways I can help.

I can’t solve every problem, but I can buy gifts that will solve some problems, for some people.

For $25 I can buy a family two chickens.  For $30 I can buy five ducks.  With their eggs, a family can feed its children and earn extra income.

For $75 I could buy a dairy goat.  Five dollars less would pay for one year of education for an orphan.  $85 would buy a girl a bicycle.

Did you know that one of the reasons many girls stop going to school is (the very real) fear of being attacked or kidnapped as they walk along lonely roads to school?  A bicycle is more than fun to them; it’s safety and access to an education.

There are lots of other ways to help, too, everything from mosquito nets to prevent malaria to clean water projects to rescuing girls from the sex trade.  Take a look and see if there isn’t something that tugs on your heart.

If you do not want to send money to a Christian organization like World Vision, there are secular charities that do similar work, like Oxfam.

I know these may not be the issues that have drawn your attention recently, but there are families suffering and mourning the loss of their children all over the world.  If we can save one child anywhere, isn’t that something?

ps – I am not affiliated with World Vision in any way.  This is not a sponsored post.

4 thoughts on “Do you ever feel helpless?

  1. Food, safe travel and education. I can’t think of a better way to help people. It’s not even that expensive. Two chickens could change everything. It’s so simple.

  2. Oxfam is dear to my heart (at least in part ’cause it was founded by a group including Quakers) they do such good work in many parts. KIVA is another we support. We gave such presents one year – the family didn’t cope very well sadly. Keep thinking we should do that again.

    • That is good to hear about Oxfam. I’ve never heard anything but good about them. I am not familiar with KIVA. My husband is going to buy me something from World Vision, but I still haven’t chosen my gift. It’s hard to pick!

Be extra nice and share!

