My baby is my middle child.

My baby is home!  I get him for almost a full month; I am one happy mom.

My baby is my middle child.  Which may seem weird.  Let me explain.

I gave birth to two sons, nineteen months apart.  They were babies together, preschoolers together, often mistaken for twins because they were gorgeous and the same height.

They could not have been more different.  My eldest was, from the very start, his father’s son, which delighted me.  Is there anything more amazing than holding your firstborn child?

My younger son was, in many ways, my boy.  He loved being my baby, being held and snuggled and, yes, babied.  Is there anything sweeter than a contented baby?

They were and always will be my firstborn and my baby.  My boys.

When my boys were in middle school, we adopted our daughter.  She is my one and only girl.

I am certain she was a beautiful infant, because she was a beautiful six year old when we first met.  I missed her baby years; her first steps, her first words, all those milestones belong to someone else’s memories.

She was never my baby, but she is my girl.  If there is anyone more joyful than parents who have waited years for a child, it is a child who has waited years for a family.

So there it is, I have my firstborn, my baby, and my girl – in that order.  Each unique and precious to me; I could not love them more.

What’s the birth order in your family?

8 thoughts on “My baby is my middle child.

  1. Precious! I love this: “If there is anyone more joyful than parents who have waited years for a child, it is a child who has waited years for a family.”
    What joy to have everyone safe and sound and around for an extended time. I don’t even have to say “Enjoy!” for I have no doubt you will. Merry, merry Christmas to you and yours!

  2. I see Lisa thought the same as me: this is a wonderful line. “If there is anyone more joyful than parents who have waited years for a child, it is a child who has waited years for a family.” I can only imagine. Nice, nice post.

  3. really lovely post. there is no joy like having your children home. it feels as if your heart will burst with all that makes each one special. i am really happy that i found your site. i look forward to every post. i know i’ll either laugh with understanding or be moved. have a wonderful holiday!

  4. Oh this is so wonderful it actually gave me chills. My husband was adopted and so was his sister. Each child is special. How neat to hear about how each of yours has captured a unique space in your heart!

Be extra nice and share!

