Sunday Funnies, discontinued

I feel foolish for not knowing this, or investigating it, earlier, but when putting together the funnies this week, I finally did realize that all the comics are under copyright that forbids sharing them online.

When I started, I had noticed that some comics were clearly marked on each individual strip as somehow blocking any form of copying.  I naively thought that the ones that were not so labeled were okay to use as long as I was not claiming them as my own.

Wrong.  Displaying them requires permission and payment.

So far as I can tell, linking to them does not, so I am in the process of deleting the comics that I have shown in the past, replacing them with links.

I don’t think links are any fun, though, so I won’t be posting new link-only funnies.

I’m sorry that I can’t continue, and I am sorry that I did not research the copyright on the comics before I began posting them.

I’m trying to think of something fun to replace the funny pages on Sundays.  Any suggestions?

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Funnies, discontinued

  1. I wondered about that. I have been trying to figure out what is appropriate to use and what isn’t. It’s probably smart to be cautious. I have read about bloggrs getting sued. I will miss the funnies though!

Be extra nice and share!

