Out with the old year, in with the dark haired man.

Do you like the year end lists, the years in review and best ofs?   I do, so I tried to compile a personal Best of 2012 list for you.

I started with Best Non-fiction Book I read.  I could not choose.  How do you compare a holocaust memoir to a book about breasts to environmental disasters to the assassination of a president?  I couldn’t.  So I scratched that off my list.

Similar problems with choosing Best Fiction, so I scratched that, too.

Then I couldn’t remember any movies I watched more than a month ago.

I made these cauliflower fritters last week, and they were definitely the best cauliflower I’d had all year.  So there is that.

But there is no list of Year’s Best from me.  Sorry.  Not even highlights or a year in review.

Instead, let’s talk about Superstitions.  Do you adhere to any New Year’s superstitions?  Or customs?

NewYearsList

My family was woefully lacking in cultural traditions and superstitions.  We don’t even have a traditional meal.  No black eyed peas; no pork in sauerkraut; no long noodles.

I didn’t even realize how many people had New Year’s traditions until I was in my twenties.  Then a co-worker told me about the many superstitions she’d grown up with.  I think of her every year at this time and pray that the new year brings her many blessings.

Her family strongly believed that the first person to cross the threshold in the new year must be a man.  She said none of the women would leave their homes until a man had visited them on New Year’s Day, so all the male relatives had to go from house to house, in the morning, to ensure good fortune for the new year.

It had to be in the morning, both because the women wanted to visit each other in the afternoon and because they didn’t want to risk a neighbor stopping by and crossing the threshold first.

This list specifies it needs to be a dark haired man.  My coworker didn’t mention that, but all the men in her family had dark hair, so maybe she didn’t think about it.  In my family, it would mean my husband would have to visit every household while the rest of us stayed home.  My sons would doom a family to bad luck all year.

NewYearsSuperstions

It’s probably good that we don’t follow that particular custom, but I like the kissing at midnight and not breaking things superstitions.  I’m all for kissing and not breaking things every day of the year, actually.

Does your family have any special customs for the New Year?  Traditional foods?

6 thoughts on “Out with the old year, in with the dark haired man.

  1. We eat Pork and Sauerkraut for dinner on New Year’s Day, because that is what my Mom grew up doing. My husband loves it and I do, because my Mom hosts the meal and my house doesn’t have to smell!

    Other than that, nothing. Totally weird on the man across the threshold!

  2. Often we have ham on New years, but not this year, I’m sick and simply not up for cooking a ham dinner tomorrow. We’ll have that one day this week. Anthony loves ham.

  3. Did you make that drawing? I love it. Maybe you need to create your own Sunday comics. We don’t have any traditions either. One group I am involved in writes down three things they want in the new year (more fun, fall in love, career success) and three things they want to let go of (bad relationship, bad habit, harmful beliefs). I haven’t gotten around to listing anything. Another group I know picks a word to help them through the new year. A word like Fearless. My mom started making the black eyed peas and other food, in the last couple of years, hoping it brings her money. Mostly, I think that I will get around to doing these things and then it is February and I don’t have much written down or planned and then I just keep trying to catch up the rest of the year. I seem to always be a little behind!

    • I did draw those, yes. Drawing them amuses me greatly. I’m glad you like them, too!

      If black eyed peas result in riches for your mom this year, I will cook them next New Year’s.

Be extra nice and share!

