Joining the In Crowd.

Throughout high school, I had what teachers and administrators termed an attendance problem.  “We need to talk about your attendance problem,” they’d say, “because in the real world, you have to show up for work.”

I always thought, “But this isn’t the real world!”

Never, at any job, did I have difficulty showing up, every day, on time, and completing the tasks assigned me.  So, I was right in knowing that my work ethic would not be determined by my school attendance record.

I was also wrong.  The real world, much to my chagrin, turned out to be much more like High School than I anticipated.

The cliques, the obsessions over grades and rankings, who likes whom, the adoration of the athletic and the beautiful, the pettiness and bullying, the drinking, the name calling, the popularity contests, and the insecurity – they’re all present in the real world.

I’m glad I skipped it when I could.

As a blogger, I’m asking again:  where do I fit?  The answer, now as then, is more easily framed in the negative.

  • I am not a mommy blogger.
  • I am not a food blogger.
  • I am not a motivational blogger.
  • I am not a health blogger.
  • I am not a style blogger.
  • I am not a craft/sewing blogger.
  • I am not a political blogger.
  • I am not a social media expert blogger.
  • I am not a product review blogger.  (But, Costco, if you need one, I’m here.)

Is there a category for bloggers who write about anything that pops into their head?  A random blogger?

Recently, I joined a blogging support group:  Generation Fabulous.  They are a very encouraging and talented group of “women of a certain age.”

I am out of my league.

Being in this group is like my freshman English class in high school, where classmates were already talking about MIT and how many AP classes could be fit into the next four years while I was figuring out how few math classes were required to graduate.

Likewise, these women are going somewhere.  They are starting or running successful businesses.  They are comediennes.  They are professional writers, tackling serious (or seriously sexy) subjects.  They blog for empowerment, education, and influence.  Or at least they stay on topic.  They discuss blog views in thousands and analyze marketing strategies.

Me?  I want to make a few friends, read and comment on their blogs, have them do the same.  I have visitors in the tens and can’t back-up my phone because I forgot the password.

They want to become a market force and change the way middle aged women are perceived and defined.

I am shopping at thrift stores, hadn’t noticed I was any more or less relevant than I’d ever been, and – dare I admit – didn’t even like Hope Springs.

Even so, I’m in because this clique is all about encouraging and supporting each other, not judging or competing.  Besides, I can’t be the only voice for the middle aged underachievers of the nation.  There must be other women who never lost touch with their inner child; who don’t want reinvention, just a bit of adjustment; who are happily doing their own random thing.

If not, I guess I’ve found my unique market niche.

20 thoughts on “Joining the In Crowd.

  1. I’m with you, Ginger. In fact, that’s why I subtitled my blog, “Thought-provoking conversations between me, myself and I” – I use my blog as a way to experiment with writing topics and styles – if I just get a few who tell me they really like my writing style or what I wrote, it encourages me to keep going in my other writing ambitions. I also don’t force myself to blog like – every other day – I am lucky to post one or two things a month – which definitely sounds like an underachiever, doesn’t it?? And though I enjoy reading some of the blogs about women of a certain age (and I am one of them) I tend not to write on that topic either. Just because you are at mid-life or above, it doesn’t mean that other topics don’t interest you!

    • That’s how I feel, Pam. There are aspects of the aging process that I’ll write about because they affect me, but many of the social aspects don’t. I’m still the same underachiever I’ve always been, with varied and random interests.

  2. I can relate, for sure. My tag line on my blog was “life is a random thing, and my blog is a random place, and I like it like that.” So, yep, random. Keep doing what you’re doing, for you are doing it very well.

  3. Ginger, you can join my group (that is, you could if I had one). I’m random, too, and I’m also I guess an underachiever–at least that’s what I was always told in school. I got into blogging just to express myself and write about things that mean something to me. I don’t have any kind of agenda, and I’m about as low-tech as you can find. If I didn’t have my husband, I wouldn’t even be able to use all these new-fangled devices. But yes, I think there’s a place for us, too! And you do write well–I enjoy reading your posts!

  4. Ginger, I’m so glad you’re part of Generation Fabulous. In no way should you feel like there’s an “in” crowd in this group! We are all searching for the same thing – connection and support – whether big bloggers or small. I am also a random blogger – I hate having to answer questionnaires that say “what category do you blog about,” because truly, I blog about, well, random things! Stick with us – and take what you want from our group.

  5. Ginger, I love this. I started my blog just for fun. I had no agenda other than to just write. Still don’t. I also post only twice a month..that’s my rhythm and I’m sticking to it. I too, like GenFab because of the wonderful support and amazing women.

    • When I first started this blog, I kept hearing people say that to build readership I’d need to post daily. That sounded like drudgery to me – I can’t think of that much to say. It’s nice to hear that you’re posting twice a month, and sticking with it.

  6. Your blog is a breath of fresh air because it doesn’t fit into a category. I hope you stay random and interesting and you. I am not sure under achiever is the right word…to me you just seem satisfied and comfortable in your own skin.

    • That’s a nicer way of putting it, and, yes, I am happy the way I am. I also intend to stay my random self. I think the blogs I most enjoy reading are the slice of life variety. It’s hard to connect with someone if you only know about one part of their life, and the connections are what makes blogging fun to me.

  7. I blog to keep up with a specific group of friends, I tell other friends – I enjoy making new friends. I like commenting on blogs I like – if that develops into a friendship good. If not, I don’t worry about it – the reasons for journaling about my life are still valid, ’cause it is my life 🙂

    • I’m glad to hear that, because I enjoy reading about your life. You have such a warm, welcoming style; reading your blog is like sitting at your table with a cup of coffee or tea.

  8. thank you for saying what i’ve been thinking and struggling with for months now. we started the blog because we had no idea what to do with ourselves after the kids left. It eased the ache. but after working all day for a woman who’s style of management is terror, i don’t have the stamina or the know how for the “networking” people say you have to do to be successful. Twitter makes me dizzy. i read it because there are some funny people out there but i don’t tweet very often. but whether people read or not, it has been successful in easing the ache and moving us from the chairs in Denise’s backyard talking about the kids, to trying new things. For what it’s worth, yours is my very favorite blog to read.

    • Thank you, Sandy! Twitter is a whirlwind, isn’t it? I find its etiquette bewildering, and then I wonder why I care. At first, I felt like it was a series of rapid fire advertisements for this and that, but I did connect with a few people there. Sometimes I’ll promote blog posts, but mostly I use it to find contests to enter.

Be extra nice and share!

