Do Opposites Attract? Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off

I love this song, not just for Fred and Ginger, and not just because I’m terribly fond of the Gershwins, but because it reminds me of my interactions with my own family.  (The lyrics, not the dancing on skates.  We are not that well coordinated.)

We have similar disagreements on word pronunciation around here.  May I say how much I love the online dictionaries where we can listen to the audio?  Not that they always resolve the point, because there are often alternate pronunciations.  As I told my son over the Christmas holiday, “Oh, I’m saying it the British way; maybe it’s because I watch so much BBC?”

It’s a good thing my husband and I didn’t have to pass a compatibility test to get married, because we would have failed.  Obviously, twenty-three years later, we’re still married, and quite happily, so there’s more to marriage than agreeing on what to watch on tv, where to go for vacation, or how to say “homogenous.”  There’s even more to it than date nights, communication style, and common interests.

I like what Paul Newman said about his marriage to Joanne Woodward, “We are very, very different people and yet somehow we fed off those varied differences and instead of separating us, it has made the whole bond a lot stronger.”

Did opposites attract for you?

8 thoughts on “Do Opposites Attract? Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off

  1. My husband and I are very different too. I think it makes for a good team. He has strengths where I have weaknesses and I have strengths where he has weaknesses so we help each other out. I think we have the same values.

  2. Wookie and I are very different – we laugh when friends of one of us meet the other and then look confused or even say, “oh, you aren’t what I was expecting”. But yeah 23 years married proves there is something there.

Be extra nice and share!

