25 Questions Answered

My blogging friend Lillian, at It’s A Dome Life, tagged me with these questions.  Usually, I put off awards and games of tags until I forget all about them, but I had just woken up from an unexpected nap (ie I fell asleep with my laptop still open on my lap), mind blank and groggy, and decided to just answer these and call a week of blogging done.

I don’t know if I mentioned it here, but Lillian is an artist, and she painted a portrait of Trixie.  I love it!  You can see it and read about her creative process here.

US Capitol Dome High Res Jan 20061. Where were you born?
I was born in Washington, D.C.

2. Were you named after someone?
Yes, online, I named myself Kay after my grandmother.  In reality, my mother named me after an actress/role in a melodramatic and creepy movie she loved as a teen.

3. How many children do you have?
Three.  Two sons, one daughter.

field beagle at home4. How many pets do you have?
Two dogs.  One boy, one girl.

5. Your worst injury?
I am incredibly clumsy, but have not broken anything larger than a toe.  I did trip, fall, and gash open my knee once, and still have a scar and wonky knee from that.

6. Do you have a special talent?
Yes, my super smell-ability.

7. Favorite thing to bake?
Cookies.

8. Favorite Fast Food?
No, I don’t like fast food.  If I’m desperate, I’ll eat a bean burrito from Taco Bell or a baked potato from Wendy’s, but it would be an exaggeration to say I like either.

Viaduc de la Souleuvre4 909. Would you bungee jump?
No.

10. What is the first thing you notice about people?
It’s hard to put into words.  I notice their demeanor.  I notice how they speak to and about others, and the expression on their face when they do.  I notice what people don’t say, and whether they seem happy or sad or something of both.

11. When was the last time you cried?
I don’t remember.  It’s been a while.

12. Any current worries?
I do not worry obsessively, but I am concerned about genocides and the sexual exploitation of children.  I’m also troubled by the poaching of animals for supposedly medicinal (usually aphrodisiac) body parts or for the ivory trade.  I stopped buying quinoa after I read about how its popularity is hurting the indigenous peoples of the Andes.

13. Name 3 drinks you drink regularly.
I only drink water regularly.

14. What’s your favorite book?
This is almost as bad as being asked to name a favorite child.

15. Would you like to be a pirate?
No.  I have no desire to live a life of crime and poor hygiene on land, much less at sea.  If the rolling waves didn’t make me sick, the smell would.

Syringa meyeri Palibin zoom16. Favorite Smells?
Fresh, clean babies.  Lilacs in bloom.  Summer, just before it rains.

17. Why do you blog?
I love connecting with people, hearing their stories, and encouraging them.

18. What song do you want played at your funeral?
I will be in heaven, so I won’t care.

19. What is your least favorite thing about yourself?
I am lazy.

20. Favorite hobby?
Reading.

21. Name something you’ve done, you never thought you would do?
I am not a planner, but I’m a daydreamer, so I imagine doing all sorts of things, even though I never plan to do any of them.  Therefore, my life is a mix of unexpected turns of events that are also dreams come true.  It’s quite thrilling.

IMG_9913.222. What do you look for in a friend?
Kindness and a lack of pretense.

23. Favorite Fun things to do?
I love sightseeing, visiting museums, touring gardens and houses; taking photos at zoos; doing nothing with good friends and family; riding my bike to the library; reading to children; rocking babies; and being with my husband.

24. Pet peeves?
Lack of self control.  I think the world would be a much nicer place if people would hold their tongues and their tempers.

Rat terrier, the best breed ever25. What’s the last thing that made you laugh?
Trixie makes me laugh every day.  She’s bad in ways that are only funny in a small dog, and probably only to me.

I am going to break the rules of the game and not tag anyone.  However, if you’d like to take part, link me to your post in the comments.  I promise to come and read it.  Or just answer your favorite question or three right here.

9 thoughts on “25 Questions Answered

  1. Four things: 1) Trixie is adorable. 2) This makes you a good friend: “I notice what people don’t say, and whether they seem happy or sad or something of both.” 3) I didn’t know that about quinoa. 4) I think it’s cool you broke the rules; these things are fun and interesting if you want to participate but feel more like an obligation than an honor when tagged.

    One more thing: I hope you’re feeling better. I’m *finally* scooting closer to 80% or so. Hope your are, too.

  2. Trixie’s watercolor portrait is great! This is a refreshing take on the tag and awards question and answer posts going around. I also “notice what people don’t say and how they speak to others and about others.” Have a nice restful weekend.

  3. I am glad you broke the rules!

    Pirate life would have a certain stench to it…I don’t think I would enjoy that either.

    Self control (or lack of it) is a pet peeve of mine too. People don’t use filters, ignore boundaries and haven’t learned to be polite. I think it is getting worse with every generation. My grandparents were polite to a fault maybe, but now the culture has swung too far in the other direction.

    • It’s true. If people would calm down, think and speak carefully, instead of ranting and raving at every perceived insult and injury….well, there would be fewer insults and injuries.

  4. I enjoyed reading your list and nodded agreement in everything on your answer to 23, doing not very much at all with family and friends is one of my favourite things to do too 🙂

    Never understood the appeal of either a pirate life or life back in ‘the good old days’ both of which I’m grateful not to be living in.

Be extra nice and share!

