The Peanut Butter in the Generational Sandwich

I'm the peanut butter in the sandwich.When these five happened in one day, I had to accept that I am in the sandwich generation.

  1. I helped my daughter with math.
  2. I talked my mom into eating real food before eating her first ice cream treat of the day.
  3. I texted my eldest about where his transcripts might be located.
  4. I discussed internship and work options with my college student son.
  5. I listened to a room full of girls singing along to Taylor Swift while watching NCIS at super volume with my mom.

I’m just visiting my mom right now, but we’d like to have her living with us in a year or so.  These weeks are glimpses of my future.

I’m not sure whether I am the peanut butter or the jelly, but I’m definitely in the middle.  My husband is right there with me, the jelly to my peanut butter or the peanut butter to my jelly.  Whichever it is, I’m glad we’re in this together.

I think we’ll need earplugs.

2 thoughts on “The Peanut Butter in the Generational Sandwich

  1. It’s nice to have a partner. I think it’s probably easier to have some peanut butter with your jelly than to be the glue holding it all together by yourself! I hope you can talk your mom into the move.

Be extra nice and share!

