A New Bike, for a good cause

$85 buys a girl a bike, getting her safely to school.I bought a new bicycle for Easter!

It wasn’t for me.  No, this bike was for a girl I’ll never know.

Why?

Women and girls are the targets of sexual violence throughout the world.  April is Sexual Assualt Awareness Month.  (I know, there is an awareness month for everything, so each month has several titles.)

As I shared a couple weeks ago, I believe that ugly acts deserve ugly words.  We need to stop using euphemisms to hide the truth of that ugliness.  Rape is a violent crime, horrible and ugly, and unpleasant to mention, but speak up we should.

We should also take action, in whatever way we are able, to prevent sexual assaults from occurring.

So I bought a bike through World Vision yesterday, so somewhere in India or Cambodia, a little girl can ride her bike to school, making her less vulnerable to assault or abduction.

I’ll think of her every time I ride my own bicycle to the library.  I’ll pray for her safety and her education.  I’ll pray for the boys in her class, too, that they will be taught to respect and value women and girls.  Maybe with education their daughters won’t need to out-ride their attackers.

15 thoughts on “A New Bike, for a good cause

  1. This is a great idea. There are just so many positives to having a vehicle beyond the important one of safety.

  2. Wow, this is a wonderful post and thing you have done. There is so much trouble in the world with rape and your post is part of the solution. You are blessed and I am blessed to know you.

  3. You are an awesome person. So many people talk about doing things like this, but I don’t think many actually get around to doing it. This is such a great way to celebrate Easter. You walk the walk and I have so much respect and admiration for you. This actually made me tear up. Thinking about a girl having to pedal past would-be attackers. It’s such an awful thing to have to do. I think having a bike would feel like having a super power.

  4. Pingback: A New Bike, for a Good Cause - Sexual Assault Awareness Month - Generation Fabulous

  5. I love that you bought a bike for such a great cause. WorldVision does great things. And you’re right about people needing to speak up for sexual violence. Monsters hide easily in the dark, which is why we need to shine a light on them.

Be extra nice and share!

