Pumpkin Walnut Oat Bran Muffins

Pumpkin Walnut Oat Bran MuffinsI thought it would be hard to give up candies and sweets, but it wasn’t as bad as I’d feared.  It has been difficult to give up home baked goods.  Not breads, but cookies and pies and muffins and cakes and sugary temptations.

This morning, I decided I could not be a sugar martyr any longer and made a batch of reasonably healthy muffins.  If you were here, I’d give you one to try, but since you’re not, the best I can do is share my recipe.  I adapted it from the recipe on the box of Quaker Oat Bran, which you can find in the hot cereal section of the grocer’s.

Pumpkin Walnut Oat Bran Muffins

Preheat oven to 475F.

2 cups Oat Bran
1/4 cup brown sugar
2tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
dash of cloves

Mix all those in a bowl.

1 scant cup milk
1/4 cup molasses or honey or blue agave (I always use molasses.)
2 eggs
1/2 cup canned pumpkin

Mix all those together in another bowl, or like me, in a measuring cup. Then pour them into the dry ingredients. It will look grainy and not at all like cake batter, which it is not.

Finally, add 1 cup broken or chopped walnuts.  (I’m lazy, so I just break them with my hands.)

Pour it into a dozen muffin cups. I use silicon cups and fill them almost to the rim, because these do not rise much.

Lower oven temperature to 425F and bake for 15-17 minutes.

These both freeze well and travel well.

According to the calculator at My Fitness Pal, each muffin contains 167 calories, 8 carbs, 6 protein, 3 fiber, and 8 sugar.  I’m not guaranteeing that, and if you use a different calculator that is more accurate – or miraculously decreases the sugar count – please share it and I’ll update the nutrition information.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Walnut Oat Bran Muffins

  1. Were these nice and moist? I love me a pumpkin muffin, so I may try these. It’s crazy how hard you have to work to get in enough fiber in a day.

    • I don’t like the taste/aftertaste of stevia, but I’m sure it would work. Blue Agave works in place of the honey, too, but I love the taste of molasses and the extra iron is good for me.

  2. I am looking forward to trying these. I am always looking for mostly healthy muffin recipes because they are easy to hand to a toddler on the go. I really like molasses too. I recently put oatmeal into the blender and turned it into flour to make a pie crust (instead of using graham crackers) and it came out really well. Of course, pouring cheesecake on top of it probably negated all of the health benefits, but I am thinking about substituting it for flour in a few other things to find out what happens.

Be extra nice and share!

