Betting on the Horses

Yesterday, my husband and I went to a Derby Party, complete with hats and $1 bets.

Knowing nothing about the horses, I placed my dollar on the horse whose name most appealed to me: Normandy Invasion. (He came in fourth.)

I was asked to bring an appetizer, which caused me a few moments of consternation.  “What qualifies as an appetizer?” I asked my friends via email.  Does it have to be cooked?  Bite sized?  Not require a plate or utensils?

Clueless, I know, but I always volunteer to bring dessert.  I don’t think I’ve ever taken an appetizer anywhere in my life.

I decided that my appetizer would be bite sized, mostly because I have an abundance of toothpicks leftover from one of my daughter’s school projects. Several boxes.  I may never need to buy toothpicks again, or I may start taking appetizers everywhere I go.
Watermelon Mint Feta Appetizer
I made watermelon-mint-feta appetizers.  As we were leaving, my husband said, “Isn’t it an hors d’oeuvres if it has a toothpick in it?”

I have no idea, but either way, everyone loved them.

Here is the recipe:  stack a cube of watermelon, a tiny torn mint leaf, and a cube of feta.  Spear it with a toothpick.

The after-race dessert was Kentucky Butter Cake.  I think you should make it.  It would be good with fruit, or a cup of tea or coffee.  Or all by its buttery self, which is how I ate it.

Did you watch the Kentucky Derby?  Or celebrate May the Fourth Be With You Day?  Will you celebrate Cinco de Mayo today?

Most importantly, do you distinguish between appetizers and hors d’oeuvres?

Be extra nice and share!

