How buying a pillow makes me want to knock down walls.

Trixie cares more about pillows than kitchen cabinets.This week, I bought new covers for some throw pillows and restuffed the others in the basement family room.

Within 24 hours I went from looking at furniture on craigslist to researching the feasibility of cutting a sofa down to loveseat size so I could eliminate the main level family room and have more seating in the living room.  Then I could revert that family room to a giant eat in kitchen, and eliminate the dining room.

I’m not sure what I would do with the dining room then.  Perhaps a conservatory?  Flowers would do a lot to get me through the long brown winters.

Am I the only one who spirals out of control like this?

I don’t despise my home, but it’s not the most efficient use of space.  More accurately, it has a lack of space for things I need (storage, bedrooms) and too much space I don’t (three rooms with sofas).

Now that it is looking like I will not be moving within the next few years, all the things I’ve been ignoring for the past couple are grating on my nerves.

I’ve lived in this house for ten years.  That is significantly longer than I’ve lived anywhere else in my adult life.

It was easy for me to overlook the faults in houses when I knew I’d be gone soon.  Ten years has given me a lot of time to mull over what I don’t like.  My bathroom, for example.

I’ve been ready for a change for the past five years.  Now I’m at the point where I stare at walls and think, “If I’m not going anywhere, maybe I could move that wall.”

It’s crazy talk.  I haven’t the budget for it.  (And, frankly, if I did, I’d use the money for a nice, long vacation instead.)

My budget is new covers for the throw pillows.

They do look nice, and Trixie seems to find them comfortable.  It’s enough.  For now.

6 thoughts on “How buying a pillow makes me want to knock down walls.

  1. This happens to me all the time. It’s like when you paint one wall it highlights how all of the other walls need painting too and that the couch is getting shabby and the floors don’t have the shine they used to. Like you, I don’t have the budget for a home makeover, but I like to think about it.

  2. Yeah I recognise this train of thought 😉 Having trouble getting motivated to repair or maintain much here, ‘as we move in a year…’ But new pillow covers freshen the look and make me happy.

Be extra nice and share!

