This is more like what I had in mind.

I did not even make it all day yesterday.  I repainted the canvases after lunch.  Then I touched them up some more before going to bed.

Here is the result:

DIY Ocean Abstracts Improved

And the first attempt:

Craft Fail: DIY Ocean Abstracts

Once again, keep in mind that the wall behind them is a pale blue grey.  Even with lights and flash on, I’m not getting true colours in my photographs.

I like the sky better, and the overall colours better, but I think the ocean isn’t quite right.  It seems less friendly than the first ocean.  I think I can live with it, though.  If not, I’ll let you know.  (What do you think?  Is the ocean too brooding?)

I used the same paints, but I watered them down with white and/or navy blue to neutralize them a bit.  I also blended them together more in the pie tin, so the effect isn’t as striped-y.

And, just because she hasn’t appeared on the blog recently, here is Trixie, engaged in part of her morning routine:  checking for chips or crumbs that may have been dropped after she went to bed last night.

How to paint an ocean abstract

4 thoughts on “This is more like what I had in mind.

Be extra nice and share!

