Peaches, the taste of summer

Peaches are my summer food obsession.  While I haven’t eaten millions of them this summer, I’ve certainly eaten dozens since they first appeared at my local market.

It’s not that I don’t love all the summer berries, but I can buy them year round.  Peaches are just for summer, so I must eat as many as I can before they are gone.

I eat them plain.  I eat them in my morning yogurt (peaches and blueberries are perfect in plain Greek yogurt).  I eat them as dessert with ginger snaps crumbled on top.  I eat them in pie and cobbler and crisp, although I think cooking them entirely unnecessary.  I put them in smoothies if they get over-ripe and mushy, but that rarely happens.  Mostly, I eat them standing over the sink, so the juice doesn’t drip on my shirt or the floor.

What is your favorite summer fruit?  Or vegetable, if you’re like that.

10 thoughts on “Peaches, the taste of summer

  1. I am right there with you. I just love peaches the most of any fruit, nectarines come in second. Now I want to go to the store and get some peaches.

  2. Freshly picked blueberries (better than those from the store) and red/black raspberries (from my own bushes)!

  3. peaches aren’t really a UK grown fruit, occasional individual trees but not farmed. So they are imported… so available all year around usually tinned. I like them when I can get them and ate dozens whilst in the US one summer. Cherries and strawberries are my favourites – I have a kilo of cherries in my fridge right now 🙂

Be extra nice and share!

